Memoirs of a New EQ2 Guild Leader

August 2, 2007

No More Dragon Magazine

Filed under: Uncategorized — lishian @ 2:24 pm

I started playing D&D in the early 80s. I was fanatically in love with that game. I painted miniatures, create campaigns, modules, drew pictures of my characters and played some of the old solo modules when friends couldn’t play.  D&D was a huge part of my life for many many years. If I hadn’t played D&D, I probably would not have looked at MUDs or MMOs. I can proudly say that I played D&D while in combat, even during mortar attacks.

A very sad thing is happening….   when I wasn’t playing D&D, I was reading Dragon Magazine.  As of Sept. 2007, Dragon Magazine will cease. I haven’t bought a Dragon Magazine for quite a few years (i no longer play D&D), but I had loved that magazine. I believe the earliest issue that I have is something like #14, tucked away in my parents attic and I have many issues under #100. hmmm…. they might be worth a boatload now!

I remember when they came out with a ninja class for the first time.. ahh..

RIP Dragon Magazine… you will be missed!

http://www.geekinthecity.com/games/holy_crap_drago.php 

1 Comment »

  1. I sold a bunch of my old Dragon magazines on eBay several years back. I made some good money. Not a lot, but more than the cover prices of the magazines. The special, unopened, issue #100 went for about $15, iirc.

    Comment by tipa — August 3, 2007 @ 1:33 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

